Super Falcons Become 9-Times AWCON Champions

Reactions Trail Mass Resignation of Ogun Governor’s Aides
December 1, 2018
Expert Highlights Ways of Reducing Road Carnage
December 2, 2018
Super Falcons Become 9-Times AWCON Champions

Super Falcons of Nigeria have been crowned African Champions for the ninth time.

They defeated  Bayana Bayana of South Africa by four goals to three via penalty shootout at the final of the Women’s Africa Cup of Nations decided at the Accra Sports Stadium, Ghana.

The game had ended goalless after one hundred and twenty minutes of play, in which Asisat Oshoala missed a chance to score a penalty in the seventy fifth minute after Ordega was brought was brought down in the 18-yard box by the Bayana Bayana goalkeeper.

Onome Ebi had missed the first spot kick during the penalty shoot out, but Ngozi Ebere, Captain Rita Chikwelu, Veronica Chinwendu and Love Uchendu were able to score, while South Africa only converted three out of their five spot kicks.

Nigeria had won the AWCON trophy in 1998, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2010, 2014 and 2016.

Cameroon, who defeated Mali by four goals to two in the third place match of the tournament won the bronze medal and also qualified for the place at the FIFA Women’s World Cup coming up next year in France.

Meanwhile, South African Forward, Chrestinah Kgatlana emerged the highest goal scorer and the best player of the tournament.

Nigeria, South Africa and Cameroon will represent Africa at next year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup in France.

Also, Congo will host the next edition of the Women’s Africa Cup of Nations in 2020.

Olaolu Fawole

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *